Monday, December 21, 2015

Newbery Reading Challenge 2016

Link to challenge sign-up page

Dates:  January 1 - December 31, 2016
Hosted by:  Julie @ Smiling Shelves

  • Choose books from among Newbery Award winners, Newbery Honor Books, and Caldecott Medal winners.
  • Rereads count.
  • Audiobooks and e-books count.
  • All books must be read between January 1, 2015, and December 31, 2015. Books begun before January 1 don’t count. 
  • Books can overlap with other challenges
  • You don’t have to have a blog to participate. You can link up reviews from Amazon, Goodreads, etc., or leave your remarks in the comments.
  • Reviews are encouraged, but not necessary.
  • There will be a monthly link up for reviews.
  • Choose your point level. You can always aim for a higher point level, but you can't move to a lower one.
Each book you read is worth points:
  • 3 points for a Newbery Medal Winner
  • 2 points for a Newbery Honor Book
  • 1 point for a Caldecott Medal Winner
Choose a level to aim for.  "You can get to this level with any combination of points you want. You can read all Newbery Medal winners. You can throw in a few Honor Books. If you want, you can even read 75 Caldecott Medal winners! How you get to your point level is totally up to you."
  1. L'Engle: 15 - 29 points
  2. Spinelli: 30 - 44 points
  3. Avi: 45 - 59 points
  4. Lowry: 60 - 74 points
  5. Konigsburg: 75+ points
✷ I'm signing up at the first level (L'Engle = 15-29 points)

See my original blog post about the challenge HERE.
See the challenge announcement/sign-up page HERE.
See the review headquarters page HERE.

MY READING LIST (books I've read, with links to reviews):

  1. Flora & Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures. Kate DiCamillo; illus. by K.G. Campbell (Newbery Medal Winner, 2014 = 3 points)

POSSIBLE  CHOICES: Newbery Winners (3 points each)
Dead End in Norvelt. Jack Gantos (2012)
The Door in the Wall. Marguerite De Angeli (1950)
Ginger Pye. Eleanor Estes (1952)
Good Masters! Sweet Ladies! Voices from a Medieval Village. Laura Amy Schlitz (2008)
The Higher Power of Lucky. Susan Patron (2007)
Hitty, Her First Hundred Years
. Rachel Field (1930)
Miracles on Maple Hill
. Virginia Sorensen (1957)
Miss Hickory
. Carolyn Sherwin Bailey (1947)
Roller Skates
. Ruth Sawyer (1937)
Strawberry Girl
. Lois Lenski (1946)
Thimble Summer
. Elizabeth Enright (1939)
The Trumpeter of Krakow
.  Eric P. Kelly (1929)
The View from Saturday
. E.L. Konigsburg (1997)
The Westing Game
. Ellen Raskin (1979)
The Wheel on the School
. Meindert De Jong (1955)
When You Reach Me
. Rebecca Stead (2010)
The Witch of Blackbird Pond. Elizabeth George Speare (1959)
Young Fu of the Upper Yangtze. Elizabeth Lewis (1933)

POSSIBLE  CHOICES: Newbery Honor Books (2 points each)
Afternoon of the Elves. Janet Taylor Lisle (1990)
Black Fox of Lorne
. Marguerite De Angeli (1957)
By the Shores of Silver Lake
. Laura Ingalls Wilder (1940)
The Cricket in Times Square
. George Selden (1961)
. Jacqueline Woodson (2008)
The Golden Name Day. Jennie Lindquist (1956)
Gone-Away Lake. Elizabeth Enright (1958)
The Headless Cupid. Zilpha Keatley Snyder (1972)
The Light at Tern Rock. Julia Sauer (1952)
Little Town on the Prairie. Laura Ingalls Wilder (1942)
The Long Winter. Laura Ingalls Wilder (1941)
Millions of Cats. Wanda Gág (1929)
The Moorchild. Eloise McGraw (1997)
Penny from Heaven. Jennifer L. Holm (2007)
Ramona and Her Father. Beverly Cleary (1978)
Splendors and Glooms. Laura Amy Schlitz (2013)
Surviving the Applewhites. Stephanie S. Tolan (2003)
These Happy Golden Years. Laura Ingalls Wilder (1944)
Three Times Lucky. Sheila Turnage (2013)
The Witches of Worm. Zilpha Keatley Snyder (1973)

POSSIBLE  CHOICES: Caldecott Winners (1 point each)
The Funny Little Woman. llustrated by Blair Lent; text: retold by Arlene Mosel (1972; 1973 winner)
Golem. David Wisniewski (1996; 1997 winner)
The Invention of Hugo Cabret. Brian Selznick (2007; 2008 winner)
Many Moons. Illustrated by Louis Slobodkin; text: James Thurber (1943; 1944 winner)
Owl Moon. Illustrated by John Schoenherr; text: Jane Yolen (1987; 1988 winner)
Sylvester and the Magic Pebble. William Steig (1969; 1970 winner)
This is Not My Hat. Jon Klassen (2012; 2013 winner) 

No comments:

Post a Comment